Pretend – Bones in the Soil, Rust in the Oil

 2009; Post-rock / Math Rock

DOWNLOAD

I surprise myself when I don’t talk about my life on this blog. I mean that’s the whole idea for blogging right? A public journal (there’s a paradox there. This concept is inherently wrong) to permanently document whatever thoughts I find important. Maybe this just means most of the thoughts I find important are about music. That’s probably accurate on a lot of levels. But. Here’s a little about me. I’m a piano performance major at APU, a private, Christian college in Southern California. I’ve been absent the past two weeks cuz school just got into full swing again and I’m working on finding that delicate balance that allows me time to listen to new music in between playing piano for what should be a minimum of 6 hours a day, being over my unit limit, around 9 hours of work a week, accompanying for the Men’s Chorale (Man Choir) here, homework, and maintaining relationships with people.

This is mood music. My Friday evening consisted of hanging out with my kind of ex and some really close friends. I’m a little still in love. Or maybe a lot. I have no idea. Like at all. I was unfortunate enough to be at her place when her new boyfriend came in. I hung out for a bit and it wasn’t like awkward but I was hurt. And so I left a bit later and came back to my place to wallow in despair a little bit. My Friday night is shot. Only jangly guitars and lengthy instrumentals are worth listening to. So I came here. To a band I found less than a week ago. A combination of Post-rock and Math, but mostly Post. There’s vocals, surprisingly. Math Rock rarely has vocals and Post-rock rarely has vocals so a combination of the two shouldn’t. But it does. And they’re great. I’m listening through this for only my second time so I can’t tell you which songs they appear in and which are entirely instrumental, right now I only remember them in Track 2. But I’m still on Track 2 so… yeah. My first playthrough of this album, I stopped around 6, because jangly guitars and harmonies worth crying over do get tedious, unfortunately, especially if the guitars jangle and sparkle at the same tone, which they do here. Also it’s pretty long. But it’s beautiful. I expect that if I wasn’t gonna go to bed as soon as I finish writing this, I’d be able to listen to it all since I’m in the right mood. My first listen I was playing Halo and it just wasn’t the perfect backdrop. Oh. Track 3 opens with some vocals. This album has really good drumming. I wish their bass was a little louder cuz there’s some good bass lines.

If you were just in the same room as the girl you love(d) and you got to watch her and her new boyfriend cuddle during Star Wars Episode 2, this is the album for you. Otherwise, listen to it anyway. It might seem uplifting if you listen to it with ears that want to hear that.

1. Two-Too High
2. Bones in the Soil, Rust in the Oil
3. Alive in the Tone
4. Those Luminous Noises Are God
5. Legs to Walk Us, to Drop Us
6. Holy Destination
7. Dream Shiver
8. Flairs
9. Guided Spirits – Guilded Souls
10. Spiral Born Black into the Upwards Night

Stand-out tracks:
Bones in the Soil, Rust in the Oil
Those Luminous Noises Are God
Holy Destination

-Jerry

One Response to “Pretend – Bones in the Soil, Rust in the Oil”

  1. Sounds like a terrible situation man. I’ve always found writing about it really helpful, and it’s really interesting getting to rereading your thoughts later on.
    I went through something similar freshman year (I’m a junior now). She goes to a different school though, so it wasn’t too terrible. For me, the feelings faded over time. I met new people, her and I stopped talking on a daily basis, and life moved on. Looking back, while I enjoyed the time we had, I’m glad I am where I am now. There’s a whole world out there, and we’re far too young to stop exploring it.

Leave a Reply

