The Very Best – Warm Heart of Africa

Electronic/Malawian; 2009

DOWNLOAD

The title track of this album features a very appropriate appearance from Ezra Koenig of Vampire Weekend. Vampire Weekend are known for playing Western Indie music that’s influenced by the music of Southern Africa. The Very Best are known for playing music of southern Africa that’s influenced by Western Indie music. It sounds great both ways.

I grew up in Swaziland, Africa, which is surrounded by South Africa and Mozambique. I miss it like crazy so music that reminds me of it always makes me happy. (hence, Vampire Weekend is my favorite band and Graceland is the best album of the 80’s imo.) Most of this album is in Malawian, so I hope you don’t like lyrics too much, you won’t be understanding them. I think it’s safe to say they’re very optimistic though, based on the music. (Well maybe not THAT safe… listen to Best Friend by The Drums) This album has happy Electronic Indie music, dance tunes with pumping beats, and traditional folk tunes with minimal instrumentation. All three are good though, being the huge Indie fan that I am, I like the upbeat tunes the best.

1. Yalira
2. Chalo
3. Warm Heart of Africa feat. Ezra Koenig
4. Mwazi
5. Nsokoto
6. Angonde
7. Julia
8. Mfumu
9. Ntende Uli
10. Rain Dance feat. M.I.A.
11. Kamphopo
12. Kada Manja
13. Zam’dziko

Stand-out tracks:
Yalira
Warm Heart of Africa
Kada Manja

-Jerry

Leave a comment